June 2013 Garden Update

My Woody Raised Bed

My Woody Raised Bed

 

We’ve been busy lately so blogging has taken a backseat once again!  The good news is that the garden is coming along pretty well despite the heat and lack of rain.  I’m constantly amazed by how well the deep mulch and wood core keep the soil moist.  I actually had to cut back on supplemental watering because I had mushrooms coming up!  I was only letting the soaker hose run for ten minutes a day and it was too much water!

BTW – the red cups you see are where I direct planted some pepper seeds.  The ones I started back in the Spring died while they were hardening off. 😦

 

 

Lincoln Peas Taking Over

Lincoln Peas Taking Over

 

Ready for a little tour?

Here’s the results of three Lincoln Peas I direct seeded about three weeks ago.  Already, they’ve grown about a foot and are starting to climb the trellis.

 

 

 

 

 

Cherry Tomato

Cherry Tomato

 

 

I’ll admit I cheated here.  When I was hardening off the Cosmonaut Volkov tomatoes, one of them died and the other two had a hard time.  So, I picked up this cherry tomato plant from the garden center to keep some production going.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tomatoes, Carrots, Onions, and Cabbage

Tomatoes, Carrots, Onions, and Cabbage

At the base of the cherry tomato, I have a real “polyculture” mishmash of plants going.  Closest to the camera, in the bottom left corner is the one surviving Cosmonaut Volkov tomato.  It hasn’t died, but it hasn’t really taken off either. To the right and just behind it is an onion that’s poking along.  There’s another onion next to the cherry tomato that’s doing much better.  There’s a couple of Bambina Carrots in there as well – one next to the cherry tomato and another that was started a few weeks later near the Volkov.  In the back row are a couple of cabbage plants, one doing really well in the back corner and one barely above the mulch next to it.  I think the one in the back is getting more shade and less heat.  Cabbage really is a cold weather plant but I wanted to see what would happen!

 

 

Brocolli coming up nicely

Brocolli coming up nicely

Oh man, I can not wait for these to start putting on heads!  I love broccoli and these are doing really well given the heat we’ve had.  The row in front of the broccoli is celery, lettuce, and more celery.  The only thing I didn’t get a picture of, now that I’m looking at them, is the Red Aztec Spinach.  It’s coming along and I’m looking forward to putting it on some salads.  I’ll need to start some more lettuce soon to keep it producing over the summer.

That’s all for now.  Thanks for stopping by.

 

Leave a Reply

