A Week of Continuing Ed.

OK, first I apologize for taking so long to get back to you.  It’s been a week since my last post, but it’s been a busy one.  Most jobs these days require you to do some form of continuing education to stay abreast of what’s going on in your field and that’s what I was doing this week.  While I’m technically an analyst, I don’t get to do a lot of analysis day-to-day.  So a full week of reviewing analytical techniques, examining cognitive biases, learning a few new tools, then spending two days doing a full capstone project was very useful.  By the end I felt like that kid on The Simpsons – “My brain’s full, can I go home now?”

During my Navy career, I learned a lot of theory about electrical motors and watched some truly talented technicians work on industrial sized motors.  My Skil circular saw crapped out a few weeks ago and I was about to chuck it out when I stopped and decided to at least take it apart to see what was wrong.

DSC00675

Pretty quickly I found the motor brushes were destroyed and that’s why it wouldn’t run.  No brushes mean no electricity getting to motor windings means no roundy-roundy as we used to say.

DSC00674

A quick web search turned up a place called eReplacementparts.com where they had the replacement brushes I needed.  It only takes removing two screws to pop the new ones in and it was good as new.  In the picture below, you can see two empty slots where the brushes go.

DSC00676

Here’s the new brushes installed.

DSC00677

And here’s the saw back together and running like new.

DSC00673

To recap, I brushed up on some old skills, learned some new ones, and saved a nice chunk of change by repairing a tool instead of buying a new one.  Oh, and the Super Bowl is on.  A good week.

Leave a Reply

